Of Monsters and Birds

by Monika Roscher Bigband

supported by
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs)
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs) thumbnail
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs) "Failure in Wonderland" already showed a new rising star in big band jazz, nicely confirmed with this album. Monika Roscher exposes an interesting, more rock-oriented approach to this old genre with her vocals and rock guitar inserts. Her arrangement techniques are pretty much in the classic big band realm, but with extensive outbursts into avantgarde. There are occasional distracting sax squeaking attacks on some tracks, luckily more than outweighed by the excellent structured compositions. Favorite track: Timewarp.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €10 EUR  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Deluxe double vinyl of our latest Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Of Monsters and Birds via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      €25 EUR or more 


Wanderer 04:47
Interlude 01:29
Illusion 06:35
Terror Tango 08:38
Timewarp 06:59
The End 04:14


1. Wanderer 4:47
2. A Walk in the Park by Night 8:03
3. Entering Birds 2:36
4. Full Moon Theatre 10:22
5. Interlude 1:29
6. Illusion 6:35
7. Terror Tango 8:38
8.Caribbean Delirium 11:33
9. New Ghosts of the Century 6:56
10. Timewarp 6:59
11. The End 4:14
(72:18 min)


released April 15, 2016

Julian Schunter: alto - flute
Jan Kiesewetter: alto - soprano
Michael Schreiber: tenor - flute - bass clarinet - didgeridoo (on Full Moon Theatre)
Jasmin Gundermann: tenor - flute
Jakob Lakner: baritone - flute - bass clarinet (on Caribbean Delirium, Wanderer, Timewarp, New Ghosts of the Century, The End)
Florian Leuschner: baritone - flute (on Terror Tango, Illusion, A Walk in the Park, Full Moon Theatre)
Heiko Giering: baritone (on Timewarp)
Felix Jechlinger: trumpet
Johannes Schneider: trumpet
Matthias Lindermayr: trumpet
Andreas Schnell: trumpet
Sebastian Stanko: trombone
Ralf Bauer: trombone
Christine Harris: trombone
Jakob Grimm: trombone - tuba
Josef Reßle: piano - rhodes
Ferdinand Roscher: bass
Leonhard Kuhn: electronics
Silvan Strauß: drums (on A Walk, Wanderer, Terror Tango, Illusion, New Ghosts of the Century, Timewarp, The End)
Philipp Scholz (on Full Moon Theatre, Caribbean Delirium)
Monika Roscher: all guitars - vocals - comp. - cond.
Gerd Baumann: additional vocals (on Terror Tango)

Written and composed by Monika Roscher
Produced by Monika Roscher

Recorded at Bauer Studios Ludwigsburg, engineered by Johannes Wohlleben
Vocals recording engineered by Gerd Baumann at Millaton Studio
Drums recording/ bass recording (for Timewarp, The End, Wanderer, New Ghosts of the Century) engineered by Umberto Echo at Elevator Studio Munich
Guitar recording engineered by Azhar Kamal, Big Bong Studios
Aditional recording engineered by Matthias Leichtle
All tracks (except Terror Tango) mixed by Olaf Opal, Berlin
Terror Tango mixed by Ralf Weigand at Plan1 Studios
Digital editing by Nico Raschke, Hansahaus Studios
Mastered by Christoph Stickel at MSM-Studios

Artwork by Sascha Banck
Cover photography by Gerd Baumann
Inside photography by Emanuel Klempa, Patrick Bethke, Oliver Moor
Paintings by Sascha Banck
Design Tobias Koark Haberl, Dominik Brustmann



all rights reserved



Monika Roscher Bigband München, Germany

Munich-based Artrock-Pop-Electro collective in the shape of a big band. Venturing deep into unknown sonic territory. Brazen birdsongs dissolve into delirious drumrolls. New Orleans splendor and blastbeats become blood brothers. Feathery vocal elegies and orchestral pathos rock each other to madness. And right in the middle the wildly pounding heart of a band creating its very own musical cosmos. ... more

contact / help

Contact Monika Roscher Bigband

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Monika Roscher Bigband, you may also like: